Special Collections and Heritage Network (SCHN)

The RLUK Special Collections and Heritage Network (SCHN) is a professional peer network for RLUK members leading cultural heritage activities within member libraries. Research libraries offer a variety of cultural heritage services and are custodians for a multitude of different types of collections. Special Collections and Heritage professionals are an integral part of research at institutional, national and international levels, acting as partners and collaborators and as primary investigators. Members of the network might include those working with/in archives, rare books, art and object collections, museums, galleries, conservation and their allied services.

The SCHN will act as a forum for discussion, harness RLUK members’ collective experience and expertise, and will be responsible for the development and delivery of programmes of work in direct support of a network action plan.


Upcoming SCHN events

Terms of Reference

Joanne Fitton
University of Leeds

Daryl Green 
University of Edinburgh

Convenor duties:

  • To organise two events per year, with the support of the RLUK office.
  • To liaise with the RLUK Office and Board regarding the current and future development of the group.
  • The term of service for SCHN Convenors is 2 years. Convenors are selected by nomination and election.

The SCHN will be open to members of an RLUK library who are involved in the development and delivery of special collections and heritage services. The network is designed for senior members of staff who are engaged in strategic development and management. Members will be nominated (by name rather than by job title) by the Director of their respective institution. Member libraries can nominate up to two members of the SCHN as appropriate. Only one individual can hold voting rights. Some SCHN meetings may be held as open meetings, allowing multiple colleagues from a single institution to attend.

  • The intellectual input of the group is the responsibility of its members, led by two elected Convenors. The Executive will provide logistical and administrative assistance when needed.
  • Convenors will serve a term of two years, with replacements sought through nomination and election.
  • The RLUK administrative secretary will be present to take notes and assist in the compilation of the report to the group members and the Board.

Travel and expenses of group members will be borne by their institution. Expenses of invited speakers will be covered by RLUK subject to prior agreement from the RLUK Treasurer.

The network has an allocated yearly budget at its disposal to cover the cost of events e.g. venue hire, catering etc.

SCLN members

Neil Curtis
Neil CurtisUniversity of Aberdeen
Helen Fisher
Helen FisherUniversity of Birmingham
Michael Richardson
Michael RichardsonUniversity of Bristol
Claire Breay
Claire BreayBritish Library
Jill Whitelock
Jill WhitelockCambridge University Library
Alan Vaughan Hughes
Alan Vaughan HughesCardiff University
Judy Burg
Judy BurgDurham University
Daryl Green
Daryl GreenUniversity of Edinburgh
Christine Faunch
Christine FaunchUniversity of Exeter
Siobhan Convery
Siobhan ConveryUniversity of Glasgow
Anne Barrett
Anne BarrettImperial College London
Katie Sambrook
Katie SambrookKing's College London
Joanne Fitton
Joanne FittonUniversity of Leeds
Simon Dixon
Simon DixonUniversity of Leicester
Jenny Higham
Jenny HighamUniversity of Liverpool
Richard Espley
Richard EspleySenate House Libraries
Nancy Graham
Nancy GrahamLSE
John Hodgson
John HodgsonUniversity of Manchester
Robin Smith
Robin SmithNational Library of Scotland
Sally McInnes
Sally McInnesNational Library of Wales
Ian Johnson
Ian JohnsonNewcastle University
Mark Dorrington
Mark DorringtonUniversity of Nottingham
Chris Fletcher
Chris FletcherUniversity of Oxford
Sarah Molloy
Sarah MolloyQueen Mary University of London
Deirdre Wildy
Deirdre WildyQueen's University Belfast
Kate Arnold-Foster
Kate Arnold-FosterUniversity of Reading
Annabel Valentine
Annabel ValentineRoyal Holloway, University of London
John Langdon
John LangdonSOAS University of London
Angela Haighton
Angela HaightonUniversity of Sheffield
Karen Robson
Karen RobsonUniversity of Southampton
Catriona McAra
Catriona McAraUniversity of St Andrews
Richard Wragg
Richard WraggUniversity of Sussex
Laura Shanahan
Laura ShanahanTrinity College Dublin
Sarah Aitchison
Sarah AitchisonUniversity College London
Ed Kirkland
Ed KirklandUniversity of Warwick
Jenny Shaw
Jenny ShawWellcome Collection
Gary Brannan
Gary BrannanUniversity of York