Research Libraries UK

Digital Shift Forum – AI & Machine Learning in Libraries

Loading Events

RLUK’s Digital Shift Forum brings together colleagues from across the information, research, cultural and heritage communities, and third and commercial sectors, to discuss the future of the digital shift in collections, services, and audiences.

The series aims to promote cross-sector discussion and debate, to enable knowledge exchange, and inspire collaborative endeavour across sectors and communities, for the benefit of RLUK members and the wider research and information management communities.

The Digital Shift Forum is open to all, and you do not need to belong to an RLUK member institution to attend or participate.

New Digital Frontiers  – AI & Machine Learning in Libraries

Wednesday 22 May 2024, 14:00 – 15:00 (BST), 15:00 – 16:00 (CEST), 16:00 – 17:00 (EEST), 09:00 – 10:00 (EDT), 21:00 – 22:00 (AWST)

New Digital Frontiers will explore the role AI and Machine learning can play in our libraries, the platforms we use, the challenges we face and the opportunities we have. This first event in this series will be an accessible and quick and gentle introduction to key concepts and applications in the library context led by Nora McGregor (British Library). It will be ideal for beginners and those new to these concepts but will also be of interest to colleagues across the sector exploring AI and Machine Learning.

Nora McGregor is a Digital Curator in the British Library’s Digital Research Team. She holds a Master’s Degree in Library and Information Science and her work centres on digital and data science skill development for cultural heritage professionals, with a particular emphasis on the innovative application of new technologies in the curation and cataloguing of heritage collections. Since its inception in 2012, she has managed the design and delivery of the Library’s ground-breaking Digital Scholarship Training Programme. This bespoke training programme provides staff with interesting and inspiring skill building opportunities, ranging from machine learning to digital storytelling and cleaning up data, helping ensure the Library’s capacity to support emerging areas of modern scholarship continues apace our computationally driven world.

Nora speaks widely on the value of investing in staff digital skills in the cultural heritage sector, providing practical guidance to cultural institutions around the world, and offering advice on ways to implement in-house digital upskilling opportunities.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top