Research Libraries UK

Inclusive Collections, Inclusive Libraries – Richard Benjamin, Liverpool

Loading Events

Inclusive Collections, Inclusive Libraries is an RLUK programme of events that aims to foster conversation around decolonisation and inclusive practice in collecting, describing, presenting, and engaging with content in research library collections. It seeks to raise awareness about the opportunities and challenges of dealing with, contextualising, and engaging with offensive collections while also identifying and sharing examples of good practice.

 

Museums & the Making of Us: In the Footsteps of Giants – Richard Benjamin, Visiting Professor in Slavery and Public Engagement, School of Histories, Languages and Cultures University of Liverpool

29 November 2022, 14:00 – 15:00 (GMT), 09:00 – 10:00 (EST), 06:00 – 07:00 (PST), 15:00 – 16:00 (CET), 22:00 – 23:00 (AWST)

What role do museums play in realigning and reflecting society? Platforms for dialogue and portals for action on issues from the legacies of slavery to decolonisation. Revolutionary thinkers and doers. Contemporary (and caring) curating, exhibitions, displays, and stories can reflect the here and now and hasten power sharing; but show an awareness of the journey and those that strove before us, from cabinets of curiosities to social justice museums.

Richard will reflect and reappraise contested histories and narratives through the lens of his time as Head of the International Slavery Museum (ISM), an activist museum challenging and framing racism, discrimination, and accepted convenient and dominant narratives.

—

Richard Benjamin is Visiting Professor in Slavery and Public Engagement in the School of Histories, Languages and Cultures at the University of Liverpool. He is on secondment from his role as Head of the International Slavery Museum at National Museums Liverpool and Co-Director of the Centre for the Study of International Slavery.

Richard gained his first degree, in Community and Race Relations, at Edge Hill College and completed an MA and Ph.D. in Archaeology at the University of Liverpool. In 2002 he was a Visiting Research Scholar at the W.E.B. DuBois Institute of African and African American Research, Harvard University.

He is a Trustee of the Anthony Walker Foundation, a member of Everton Football Club External Equality Advisory Group, and a Board member of the European Museum Forum and MONITOR: Global Intelligence on Racism magazine. He is Co-editor of the Routledge Book Series on Restorative Justice in Heritage Studies & Archaeology.

His current research focuses on Black museology. From diverse museum practice, to the development of Black cultural spaces and the associated artistic, cultural, and social movements. He hosts the Kinways Black Museology podcast.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top