Research Libraries UK

Inclusive Collections, Inclusive Libraries – Scottish Design Galleries, V&A Dundee

Loading Events

Inclusive Collections, Inclusive Libraries is an RLUK programme of events that aims to foster conversation around decolonisation and inclusive practice in collecting, describing, presenting, and engaging with content in research library collections. It seeks to raise awareness about the opportunities and challenges of dealing with, contextualising, and engaging with offensive collections while also identifying and sharing examples of good practice.

Scottish Design Galleries at V&A Dundee

Wednesday 19 June, 14:00 – 15:00 (BST), 15:00 – 16:00 (CEST/SAST), 16:00 – 17:00 (EEST), 06:00 – 07:00 (PDT), 09:00 – 10:00 (EDT), 21:00 – 22:00 (AWST/CST), 23:00 – 00:00 (AEST)

Kirsty Hassard and James Wylie, curators at V&A Dundee, will discuss the museum’s decolonisation efforts within the Scottish Design Galleries since opening in 2018. They will share insights gained from this process and explain how it has influenced the museum’s broader exhibition programming and future planned projects. Additionally, they will detail how these efforts contributed to the development of V&A Dundee’s first major temporary exhibition, Tartan.

Kirsty Hassard is a fashion historian, and curator at V&A Dundee. She co-curated Tartan (2023). She was previously assistant curator in the Furniture, Textiles and Fashion department at V&A South Kensington. She has published on women’s work, and the relationship between fashion and print culture in the eighteenth century.

James Wylie is Project Curator at V&A Dundee, having graduated from the University of St Andrews with previous experience working at Angus Museums & Galleries. Wylie was one of a team of three curators who created Tartan, V&A Dundee’s first major in-house temporary exhibition in collaboration with consultant curator Jonathan Faiers.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top