Research Libraries UK

Digital Shift Forum – Sustainability and digital in museums, collections and archives

Loading Events

RLUK’s Digital Shift Forum brings together colleagues from across the information, research, cultural and heritage communities, and third and commercial sectors, to discuss the future of the digital shift in collections, services, and audiences.

The series aims to promote cross-sector discussion and debate, to enable knowledge exchange, and inspire collaborative endeavour across sectors and communities, for the benefit of RLUK members and the wider research and information management communities.

The Digital Shift Forum is open to all, and you do not need to belong to an RLUK member institution to attend or participate.

Sustainability and digital in museums, collections and archives

Wednesday 18 October 2023, 14:00 – 15:00 (BST), 15:00 – 16:00 (CEST/SAST), 16:00 – 17:00 (EEST), 09:00 – 10:00 (EDT), 21:00 – 22:00 (AWST/CST)

This session will explore some of the complex issues that museums, collections and archives face when trying to determine the most sustainable ways to preserve and make available their holdings.

Kate Gill and Sarah Phillips from the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew will share five ways digitising Kew’s specimens can help save the world. Kew have taken on an ambitious project to digitise entire collections of more than eight million plant and fungal specimens, opening up a treasure trove of information that will help scientists understand and protect the natural world.

Stacey Anderson from The Box, Plymouth will share ‘Beyond Analogue’ – a journey towards sustainable digital preservation within a museum and archives service.

 

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top