Research Libraries UK

Digital Shift Forum – Digital technology in museums and the Sustainability Cafe

Loading Events

RLUK’s Digital Shift Forum brings together colleagues from across the information, research, cultural and heritage communities, and third and commercial sectors, to discuss the future of the digital shift in collections, services, and audiences.

The series aims to promote cross-sector discussion and debate, to enable knowledge exchange, and inspire collaborative endeavour across sectors and communities, for the benefit of RLUK members and the wider research and information management communities.

The Digital Shift Forum is open to all, and you do not need to belong to an RLUK member institution to attend or participate.

Digital technology in museums and the Sustainability Cafe

Wednesday 13 December 2023, 14:00 – 15:30 (GMT), 15:00 – 16:30 (CET), 16:00 – 17:30 (EET/SAST), 09:00 – 10:30 (EST), 22:00 – 23:30 (AWST/CST)

The final Digital Shift Forum this year will bring our current miniseries on sustainability to a close with a talk from Dr Nicôle Meehan, Co-Director Museum and Heritage Studies at the University of St Andrews University on ‘Thinking through the environmental cost of digital technology in museums.’

We will close this sustainability series with a new café format with an overview of the talks in this series leading into more informal discussions. This will be an opportunity to meet, share, reflect and engage with colleagues around this series of talks in our Digital Shift Sustainability café in smaller tables (breakout rooms). The café is a new addition to our Digital Shift Forum for 2023-24 and provides the time and space for wide-ranging, inter-disciplinary discussions regarding the future of the digital shift, and to provide a springboard for cross-sector collaboration.

After working in the cultural sector in digital and engagement focused roles (Historic Environment Scotland, Hunterian Museum and Art Gallery, National Galleries Scotland), Dr Nicôle Meehan joined the University of St Andrews. She is currently Co-Director and Lecturer in Museum and Heritage Studies. Her research and teaching focuses on digital technology in museums, thinking broadly about the advantages and limitations of these, and the impact of their use upon diverse audiences. She is particularly interested in matters of digital access, digital exclusion, and digital colonialism. Nicôle’s current research examines the value-based judgements enacted by museums in the use of digital technologies in relation to the climate crisis.

 

 

 

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top