Research Libraries UK

Digital Shift Forum – Sustainability and UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

Loading Events

RLUK’s Digital Shift Forum brings together colleagues from across the information, research, cultural and heritage communities, and third and commercial sectors, to discuss the future of the digital shift in collections, services, and audiences.

The series aims to promote cross-sector discussion and debate, to enable knowledge exchange, and inspire collaborative endeavour across sectors and communities, for the benefit of RLUK members and the wider research and information management communities.

The Digital Shift Forum is open to all, and you do not need to belong to an RLUK member institution to attend or participate.

Sustainability and UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

Wednesday 15 November 2023, 14:00 – 15:00 (GMT), 15:00 – 16:00 (CET), 16:00 – 17:00 (EET/SAST), 09:00 – 10:00 (EST), 23:00 – 23:00 (AWST/CST)

This session will focus on issues of Sustainability and the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) .

The UN’s Sustainable Development Goals are ‘a call for action by all countries – poor, rich and middle-income – to promote prosperity while protecting the planet. They recognize that ending poverty must go hand-in-hand with strategies that build economic growth and address a range of social needs including education, health, social protection, and job opportunities, while tackling climate change and environmental protection.

This session will highlight the role of information systems and services in addressing global challenges and sustainable development. It will also share the experience of Stellenbosch University library in South Africa in supporting SDGs and how the library can contribute to SDG Research. It will also include the role of SUNScholar, Stellenbosch’s institutional repository in improving the findability of SDG related research.

Professor Gobinda Chowdhury is a Professor of Information Science in the Department of Computer & Information Sciences, University of Strathclyde, UK.  He has been involved in teaching and research in Information Science for over 25 years and has taken senior management positions at universities in UK and Australia.  Currently he is the Chair of the global iSchools Organisation.

Professor Chowdhury’s research focuses on digital libraries and information services trying to understand how people access and use information and data in different  contexts. Recent research includes information systems and services for addressing global challenges and sustainable development.

Mimi Seyffert-Wirth started her career at Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service 26 years ago as Special Collections Librarian. She holds a B.Bibl. degree from Stellenbosch University and a Masters in Information Science from the University of Pretoria. She is currently Director: Digital Scholarship and Marketing. This position allows her to contribute to areas such as Open Access and Digital Heritage.

 

 

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top