Research Libraries UK

Inclusive Collections, Inclusive Libraries – Making archives engaging for visually impaired audiences

Loading Events

Inclusive Collections, Inclusive Libraries is an RLUK programme of events that aims to foster conversation around decolonisation and inclusive practice in collecting, describing, presenting, and engaging with content in research library collections. It seeks to raise awareness about the opportunities and challenges of dealing with, contextualising, and engaging with offensive collections while also identifying and sharing examples of good practice.

Making archives engaging for visually impaired audiences

Thursday 14 March 2024, 14:00 – 15:00 (GMT), 16:00 – 17:00 (EET/SAST), 15:00 – 16:00 (CET), 10:00 – 11:00 (EDT), 22:00 – 23:00 (AWST/CST)

How can archival collections be made not only accessible but fun and engaging for visually impaired audiences?

For the past year, Ellen Oredsson has been completing a project as part of the TNA/RLUK Professional Research Fellowship Scheme looking at how to answer this question as part of her role in the Education & Outreach department at The National Archives. Over the course of the year, she has talked to experts and people with lived experiences and have explored everything from magnifiers to specialised iPads and tactile images. In this presentation, She will share what she has learnt so far when it comes to meeting the needs of these audiences and how she has practically implemented these learnings to expand the reach and accessibility of The National Archive’s collections and offerings.

Ellen Oredsson is the Digital Projects Officer in the Education & Outreach team at The National Archives (UK). She works across the team to create digital and online resources and projects that bring to life the archive’s collection for educators, students, and community groups. Previously, she was Web Content Editor at M+, a museum of visual culture in Hong Kong.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top