Research Libraries UK

Digital Shift Forum – Reflections on Repository Infrastructure

Loading Events

RLUK’s Digital Shift Forum brings together colleagues from across the information, research, cultural and heritage communities, and third and commercial sectors, to discuss the future of the digital shift in collections, services, and audiences.

The series aims to promote cross-sector discussion and debate, to enable knowledge exchange, and inspire collaborative endeavour across sectors and communities, for the benefit of RLUK members and the wider research and information management communities.

The Digital Shift Forum is open to all, and you do not need to belong to an RLUK member institution to attend or participate.

Reflections on Repository Infrastructure

Wednesday 13 March 2024, 14:00 – 16:00 (GMT), 15:00 – 17:00 (CET), 16:00 – 18:00 (EET/SAST), 10:00 – 12:00 (EDT), 07:00 -09:00 (PDT), 22:00 – 00:00 (AWST/CST)

This joint RLUK and Open Repositories event will provide an opportunity to share reflections on our repository infrastructure. The first talk will be delivered by Professor Hussein Suleman whose research is situated within the Digital Libraries Laboratory in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Cape Town. Professor Suleman gave the closing keynote at Open Repositories 2023. His talk will inspire and challenge us – and  encourage us to think broadly about the ways repositories enable discoverability and interoperability of information and data within the structured web of data.

The second talk will be from Stefano Cossu, Harvard University. Stefano will share key takeaways and updates on Harvard’s Digital Repository Service (DRS) Futures Project. The DRS has provided digital preservation and access to Harvard’s library and archival collections for 22 years. The once cutting-edge technology supporting this service has gradually aged and is due for a redesign. In approaching this major institutional challenge, which affects over 60 Harvard departments and uncountable external users of their data, Harvard have taken an innovative approach not only in the technology or production practices, but also in the modes of collaboration, information gathering and audience targeting.

Earlier versions of these talks were presented at Open Repositories 2023, in Stellenbosch, South Africa.

The session will be chaired by Torsten Reimer, University Librarian and Dean of the University Library at the University of Chicago. Torsten is the current chair of the Open Repositories Steering Committee.

 

 

 

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top